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Interested Persons Statement   
 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS   

Interested persons may submit comments, information or arguments concerning any of the rule proposals in this 
issue until the date indicated in the proposal. Submissions and any inquiries about submissions should be 
addressed to the agency officer specified for a particular proposal.   

The required minimum period for comment concerning a proposal is 30 days. A proposing agency may extend the 
30-day comment period to accommodate public hearings or to elicit greater public response to a proposed new rule 
or amendment. Most notices of proposal include a 60-day comment period, in order to qualify the notice for an 
exception to the rulemaking calendar requirements of  N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3. An extended comment deadline will be 
noted in the heading of a proposal or appear in a subsequent notice in the Register.   

At the close of the period for comments, the proposing agency may thereafter adopt a proposal, without change, or 
with changes not in violation of the rulemaking procedures at      N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.3. The adoption becomes effective 
upon publication in the Register of a notice of adoption, unless otherwise indicated in the adoption notice. 
Promulgation in the New Jersey Register establishes a new or amended rule as an official part of the New Jersey 
Administrative Code.   

Agency 
 
LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT > INCOME SECURITY 

 
Administrative Code Citation 
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 2026 Maximum Weekly Benefit Rates 

 2026 Taxable Wage Base Under the Unemployment Compensation Law 

 2026 Contribution Rate of Governmental Entities and Instrumentalities 

 2026 Base Week 

 2026 Alternative Earnings Test 

Authorized By: Robert Asaro-Angelo, Commissioner, Department of Labor and Workforce Development. 

Authority: N.J.S.A. 34:1-5, 34:1-20, 34:1A-3.e, 43:21-3.c, 43:21-4.e, 43:21-7.b(3), 43:21-7.3.e, 43:21-19.t, 43:21-27, 
43:21-40, and 43:21-41. 

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of exception to the calendar requirement. 

Proposal Number: PRN 2025-113. 

Submit written comments by November 1, 2025, to: 

David Fish, Executive Director 
Office of Legal and Regulatory Services 
New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development 
PO Box 110-13th Floor 
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0110 
Fax to: (609) 292-8246 

 Email: david.fish@dol.nj.gov 

The agency proposal follows: 

 Summary 

 In accordance with the provisions of the Unemployment Compensation Law, N.J.S.A. 43:21-1 et seq., and the 
Temporary Disability Benefits Law, N.J.S.A. 43:21-25 et seq., which require the Commissioner of the Department of 
Labor and Workforce Development (Department) to annually establish and promulgate the maximum 
unemployment insurance, temporary disability insurance, and family leave insurance benefit rates, the contribution 
rate for governmental entities, the alternative earnings and base week amounts, and the taxable wage base, the 
Commissioner of the Department (Commissioner) is proposing amendments at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 
and 1.6 to establish these rates and amounts for 2026.  

 The proposed amendments at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.2 establish the 2026 maximum weekly benefit rates for 
unemployment insurance benefits pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation Law and for State Plan temporary 
disability and family leave insurance benefits pursuant to the Temporary Disability Benefits Law. The maximum 
weekly benefit rates are $ 905.00 for unemployment insurance and $ 1,119 for temporary disability insurance and 
family leave insurance.  

 The proposed amendments at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.3 establish the 2026 taxable wage base for the purpose of 
contributions pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation Law, in accordance with N.J.S.A. 43:21-7.b(3), and the 
2026 taxable wage base for the purpose of contributions to the State Disability Benefits Fund, including the Family 
Temporary Disability Leave Account, in accordance with N.J.S.A. 43:21-7.b(4). The new taxable wage base would 
be $ 44,800 for contributions pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation Law and $ 171,100 for contributions to 
the State Disability Benefits Fund, including the Family Temporary Disability Leave Account.  
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 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.4 reflects a decrease in the contribution rate for governmental 
entities and instrumentalities from 0.6 percent (of taxable wages) in 2025 to 0.5 percent in 2026. By way of 
background, N.J.S.A. 43:21-7.3 permits any governmental entity or instrumentality to elect the payment of 
contributions, as an alternative to financing benefits by payments in lieu of contributions. (In other words, 
government employers can choose to either reimburse the fund for unemployment compensation benefits paid on a 
dollar-for-dollar basis or make contributions at a rate set by the Department based on experience.) As to the 
contribution rate paid by those governmental entities that have elected to pay contributions, N.J.S.A. 43:21-7.3.e 
requires that the Commissioner review the composite benefit cost experience of all governmental entities and 
instrumentalities electing to pay contributions and, on the basis of that experience, establish the contribution rate for 
the next following calendar year that can be expected to yield sufficient revenue in combination with worker 
contributions to equal or exceed the projected costs for that calendar year. On the basis of the Department's 
calculation this year, it has been determined that a contribution rate for governmental entities and instrumentalities 
in 2026 of 0.5 percent of taxable wages should yield sufficient revenue in combination with worker contributions to 
equal or exceed the projected costs for 2026. Therefore, the Department is proposing that the contribution rate for 
governmental entities and instrumentalities be decreased from 0.6 percent of taxable wages to 0.5 percent of 
taxable wages.  

 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.5 establishes the amount of earnings required in 2026 to establish a 
base week for an individual's claim for unemployment compensation and State Plan temporary disability and family 
leave insurance benefits, in accordance with N.J.S.A. 43:21-19.c(1) and t(3) and 43:21-27.h(4).  

 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.6 establishes the amount of base year earnings required in 2026 to 
establish an individual's eligibility for unemployment compensation and State plan temporary disability and family 
leave insurance benefits in those instances when the [page=1914] individual has not established 20 base weeks, in 
accordance with N.J.S.A. 43:21-4.e(4)B and 43:21-41.d(2).  

 As a 60-day comment period has been provided for the notice of proposal, this notice is excepted from the 
rulemaking calendar requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.  

 Social Impact  

 The proposed amendments at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.2 would ensure that payments to unemployment, disability 
insurance, and family leave insurance recipients who are entitled to maximum benefits will increase in line with the 
upward trend of wages in the State's economy, thus preserving the real purchasing power of their benefits.  

 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.3 would generate increased revenues for the unemployment 
compensation fund and the State disability benefits fund needed to offset the increased level of benefits for the 
unemployment compensation, temporary disability insurance, and family leave insurance programs, which are 
statutorily indexed to the trend of wages in the State's economy.  

 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.4 would have no social impact.  

 The proposed amendments at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.5 and 1.6 would provide for the base week amount and the amount 
of earnings to establish eligibility, respectively, which are indexed to the State minimum hourly wage.  

 Economic Impact  

 The proposed amendments at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.2 would increase the weekly benefit rates received by individuals 
eligible for the maximum weekly benefit rate pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation Law and pursuant to the 
Temporary Disability Benefits Law, beginning January 1, 2026, in compliance with statutory provisions that 
automatically adjust these benefit rates each year, in accordance with changes in the Statewide average weekly 
wage. The maximum weekly benefit for Unemployment Compensation is computed as 56 and 2/3 percent of the 
Statewide average weekly wage in the second preceding calendar year. As of January 1, 2026, the maximum 
weekly benefit will increase from $ 875.00 to $ 905.00. The 2026 maximum benefit rate represents a 3.4 percent 
increase from the current benefit rate.  
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 The maximum weekly benefit for State Plan Temporary Disability and Family Leave Insurance is computed as 70 
percent of the Statewide average weekly wage in the second preceding calendar year. As of January 1, 2026, the 
maximum weekly benefit will increase from $ 1,081 to $ 1,119. The 2026 maximum benefit rate represents a 3.5 
percent increase from the current benefit rate.  

 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.3(a) would increase, from $ 43,300 to $ 44,800, the wages of an 
individual employee of an employer that are subject to contributions pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation 
Law, beginning January 1, 2026. The taxable wage base is computed as 28 times the Statewide average weekly 
wage in the second preceding calendar year. The 2026 taxable wage base for contributions pursuant to the 
Unemployment Compensation Law represents a 3.5 percent increase from the current wage base.  

 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.3(b) would increase from $ 165,400 to $ 171,100 the wages of an 
individual employee of an employer that are subject to contributions to the State Disability Benefits Fund, including 
the Family Temporary Disability Leave Account, beginning January 1, 2026. The taxable wage base is computed as 
107 times the Statewide average weekly wage in the second preceding calendar year. The 2026 taxable wage base 
for contributions to the State Disability Benefits Fund, including the Family Temporary Disability Leave Account, 
represents a 3.4 percent increase from the current wage base.  

 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.4 would have no economic impact.  

 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.5 would increase from $ 303.00 to $ 310.00 the amount an 
individual must earn to establish a base week pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation and Temporary 
Disability Benefits Laws, beginning January 1, 2026. The amount is computed as 20 times the State minimum 
hourly wage in effect as of October 1 of the preceding calendar year. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56.a(4), the State 
minimum hourly wage rate in effect as of October 1, 2025, will be $ 15.49 (an increase from the minimum hourly 
wage rate of $ 15.13, which had been in effect on October 1, 2024).  

 The proposed amendment at N.J.A.C. 12:15-1.6 would, beginning January 1, 2026, increase from $ 15,200 to $ 
15,500 the alternative earnings eligibility standard pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation and Temporary 
Disability Benefits Laws in those situations where the individual has not established 20 base weeks in the base year 
period. The amount is computed as 1,000 times the State minimum hourly wage in effect as of October 1 of the 
preceding calendar year, which for the purpose of this calculation is $ 15.49 (an increase from the minimum hourly 
wage rate of $ 15.13, which had been in effect on October 1, 2024).  

 Federal Standards Statement  

 The proposed amendments do not include any standards or requirements that exceed standards or requirements 
imposed by Federal law. The proposed amendments affect benefit and contribution levels pursuant to the 
Unemployment Compensation and Temporary Disability Benefits Laws. As a result, an analysis of the proposed 
amendments pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-23 is not required.  

 Jobs Impact  

 The proposed amendments would have no impact on jobs in New Jersey. The Department does not anticipate an 
increase or decrease in jobs as a result of these amendments.  

 Agriculture Industry Impact  

 The proposed amendments would have no impact on the agriculture industry.  

 Regulatory Flexibility Statement  

 The proposed amendments would not impose any reporting, recordkeeping, or compliance requirements on small 
businesses as that term is defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq. The proposed 
amendments would affect benefit and contribution levels pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation and 
Temporary Disability Benefits Laws. Thus, a regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.  
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 Housing Affordability Impact Analysis  

 The proposed amendments would not evoke a change in the average costs associated with housing, nor would 
they have an effect on the affordability of housing. The basis for this finding is that the proposed amendments 
pertain to the statutorily mandated annual adjustment of unemployment compensation, temporary disability 
benefits, and family leave insurance benefits rates and do not pertain to housing.  

 Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis  

 The proposed amendments would not evoke a change in the housing production within Planning Areas 1 or 2, or 
within designated centers, pursuant to the State Development and Redevelopment Plan. The basis for this finding is 
that the proposed amendments pertain to the statutorily mandated annual adjustment of unemployment 
compensation, temporary disability benefits, and family leave insurance benefits rates and do not pertain to housing 
production, either within Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within designated centers.  

 Racial and Ethnic Community Criminal Justice and Public Safety Impact  

 The Commissioner has evaluated this rulemaking and has determined that it would not have an impact on pretrial 
detention, sentencing, probation, or parole policies concerning adults and juveniles in the State. Accordingly, no 
further analysis is required.  

 Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]):  

 SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS  

 12:15-1.2 Maximum weekly benefit rates  

 (a) For unemployment compensation claims commencing on or after January 1, [2025] 2026 , the maximum weekly 
benefit rate pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation Law shall be [$ 875.00] $ 905.00 per week.  

 [page=1915] (b) For periods of disability or family leave commencing on or after January 1, [2025] 2026 , the 
maximum weekly benefit rate for State Plan temporary disability and family leave insurance benefits pursuant to the 
Temporary Disability Benefits Law shall be [$ 1,081] $ 1,119 per week.  

 12:15-1.3 Taxable wage base pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation Law  

 (a) In accordance with the provisions at N.J.S.A. 43:21-7.b(3), the "wages" of any individual with respect to any one 
employer for the purpose of contributions pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation Law shall include the first 
[$ 43,300] $ 44,800 during the calendar year [2025] 2026.  

 (b) In accordance with the provisions at N.J.S.A. 43:21-7.b(4), the "wages" of any individual with respect to any one 
employer for the purpose of contributions to the State Disability Benefits Fund, including the "Family Temporary 
Disability Leave Account," shall include the first [$ 165,400] $ 171,100 during the calendar year [2025] 2026.  

 12:15-1.4 Contribution rate of governmental entities and instrumentalities  

 (a) In accordance with the provisions [of] at N.J.S.A. 43:21-7.3(e), the contribution rate for all governmental entities 
and instrumentalities electing to pay contributions [under] pursuant to the Unemployment Compensation Law shall 
be [six-tenths] five-tenths of one percent ([0.6] 0.5 percent) for the entire calendar year.  

 (b) This contribution rate shall be effective on taxable wages paid in the calendar year [2025] 2026.  

 12:15-1.5 Base week  

 In accordance with the provisions at N.J.S.A. 43:21-19.c(1) and t(3) and 43:21-27.h(4), the base week amount 
shall be [$ 303.00] $ 310.00 per week for calendar year [2025] 2026.  
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 12:15-1.6 Alternative earnings test  

 In accordance with the provisions at N.J.S.A. 43:21-4.e(4)(B) and 43:21-41.d(2), in those instances in which the 
individual has not established 20 base weeks, the alternative earnings amount for establishing eligibility shall be [$ 
15,200] $ 15,500 for unemployment compensation benefit years and periods of disability and family leave 
commencing on or after January 1, [2025] 2026. 
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